1 October 2019

FA Youth Cup: Bromley 6-1 Corinthian

  • Men's

Bromley progressed to the next round of the FA Youth Cup in torrential and blustery conditions at Hayes Lane on Tuesday evening.

Bromley took the lead on 3 minutes, as John Adebiyi headed home a well placed corner in amongst a sea of yellow shirts. Corinthian goalkeeper Bradley Smith would then have to be at his best to deny AJ Martin minutes later, as a stinging volley was tipped away from goal.

However, Sam Awatafe made it 2-0 on 11 minutes, as he swept home a low effort off the inside of the post following a counter attack spearheaded by Ollie Tanner. Shaike Kamara netted Bromley’s third after 20 minutes, beating Smith to a Tanner through ball and guiding home from close range.

However, Corinthian reduced the deficit on 22 minutes, as a Charlie Dale free kick took a heavy deflection off a Bromley foot and beat Kameron Edwards. Tanner almost added a fourth, but good goalkeeping from Smith saw him tip the Bromley man’s wind assisted effort over the bar.

In a bizarre second half, Corinthian would have the lion’s share of the possession and a number of chances, but it would be Bromley who would add another three goals.

The first of these was an outstanding solo effort from Tanner on 61 minutes, as he weaved in and out of challenges to go one on one with Smith, and coolly slotted home.

But Corinthian continued to attack, and Kameron Edwards had to be at his best on two occasions soon after, denying Arjun Majhail and Charlie Thomas.

Tanner added a fifth with another fine solo effort on 90 minutes, after Corinthian had failed to clear on two separate occasions. There would be time for a sixth too, as AJ Martin fired a low free kick into the bottom corner from the edge of the box.

Corinthian defender Tom Tippett was then sent off in injury time, before Tanner was denied a hat trick late on, as another good save from Smith prevented his curling free kick from reaching the bottom corner.

Bromley XI: Edwards, Gashi, Da Silva (C), Adebiyi, Ayton-Greene, Thomas, Kamara, Martin, Bloomfield, Tanner, Awatafe

Substitutes: Watson, Oloko, Crankson, Kaudeer, Jobe

Corinthian XI: Smith, Waterman, Mason, Tippett, Exall (C), Nicolls-Brown, O’Dea, Dale, Sahni, Bihal, Turner

Substitues: Majhail, Quartey, Thomas, Wilkins, Emeka, Kwambamba

Sign up for our Newsletter