20 April 2018

New playoff format explained

  • Men's

For the Clubs still in the race for the playoffs, The National League would like to confirm the following arrangements for this year’s new format.

The new 6-team format will see Clubs finishing between 2nd and 7th place in the league table at the end of the season compete against each other to determine the second promotion place in each division. The Clubs finishing in 2nd and 3rd place will progress automatically to the Semi-Finals where they will host the teams that progress from the Eliminators. All ties are single-leg matches and will be scheduled as follows:

Vanarama National League:

Vanarama Eliminators:
Match A – Wednesday 2nd May – 5th place vs 6th place – 7pm kick-off
Match B – Thursday 3rd May – 4th place vs 7th place – 7pm kick-off

Vanarama Semi-Finals:
Saturday 5th May – 2nd place vs winner of Match A – 12:15pm kick-off
Sunday 6th May – 3rd place vs winner of Match B – 3pm kick-off

Vanarama Promotion Final:
Saturday 12th May – Wembley Stadium – 3pm kick-off

Sign up for our Newsletter